Online Research & Databases
Regardless of what you are researching, the Library has a database to help. Explore our list of resources by topic and find the answers you need.
Many of the DeWitt District Library's research databases are provided through the Library of Michigan. These online resources feature some of the most comprehensive and authoritative information available on a variety of subjects
FEATURED DATABASE
Powerful tools to Support Your Financial Needs
A-Z Databases
Detailed information on 30 million businesses and executives. Includes data on over 200 million residents as well as new movers/homeowners. Special features include a background and criminal history search. Information provided on U.S. Healthcare Professionals.
This database provided by the Michigan eLibrary (MeL).
Alt HealthWatch
Provides information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness.
Ancestry Library Edition
Delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.
Note: Ancestry is available for in-library use only.
Auto Repair Source
Repair information and schedules, diagrams, parts and labor estimates, service alerts, and recalls. Covers thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.
Biography Reference Center
More than 450,000 biographies. Includes full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine as well as thousands of narrative biographies.
Britannica School
Nonfiction content geared toward K-12 students. Includes encyclopedia articles, images, multimedia elements, ebooks, novels, and essays.
Consumer Health Complete
Supports the health and wellness information needs of patients. Covers mainstream medicine as well as complementary and holistic medicine.
Consumer Reports
Provides clear reviews of commonly purchased products.
Craft & Hobby
Access video tutorials in over 20 different creative interests such as fiber arts, photography, fitness, woodworking, and more.
DemographicsNow
Business and residential tool providing access to demographic data. Drill down to the city or even neighborhood level. Identify markets and audiences in your community.
Early World of Learning
Grades PreK-3. Follow Trek and Taffy the cats around the world. Share their love of colors, numbers, and other fun things.
eBook K-8 Collection
Provided by Ebsco through MeL. Beginning Reader-Friendly. Fiction and nonfiction books you can read online-for school and for fun.
Fantastic Fiction
Over 25,000 bestselling author bibliographies with all the latest books, covers and descriptions.
Home Repair Reference Center
Includes articles on maintenance, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating, and more.
KDL'S What's Next
Kent District Library's Books in Series database to help search books in series fiction.
Interactive online learning platform of academic and licensing/certification practice tests, elementary level testing for math and reading. Includes job assessments and tutorials as well.
Legal Information Reference Center
Search over 12,800 state-specific legal forms by topic.
Mango Languages
Start the conversation in your choice of over 70 world languages through courses crafted with conversational methodology.
Michigan Authors & Illustrators
A searchable database of Michigan authors and illustrators. Provides biographical and contact information.
Michigan Legal Help
Michigan Legal Help is for people handling their legal issues without a lawyer. Find self-help tools, forms, procedures, and other resources. Access their User Guide here.
MyHeritage Library Edition
Family history resource including more than 6 billion historical records from the United States, Europe, Latin America, and other regions.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. Offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Niche Academy
Online tutorials for the library's digital resources and services.
NoveList K-8 Plus
Find the right book by age, subject, awards won, books made into movies, and much more.
NoveList Plus
Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable non-fiction titles. Features lists of award-winning books, Read-a-like recommendations, and complete series information.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides different viewpoints about issues that help students develop critical thinking skills. This resource brings balance and perspective to contemporary issues using arguments from experts.
PebbleGo
Grades PreK-3. Read and learn about animals (including dinosaurs) and social studies topics.
ReadKiddoRead
James Patterson's site for helping parents, librarians, and children choose great, cool books, books that kids will absolutely, positively love.
Referencia Latina
Covers academic and non-academic subjects. Offers content from reference books, general interest magazines, health reports, and other sources. Daily updates from a dozen newspapers from ten Latin American countries and more than 2,500 health reports.
Seeking Michigan
Explore Michigan's past & present. This site contains historic documentation of Michigan's unique civic and cultural heritage available, accessible, and attainable to the public community in order that the stories of Michigan'’s families, homes, businesses, communities, and landscapes would not be forgotten. We identify this heritage as being composed of unique source documents, maps, films, images, oral histories, and artifacts.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Repair guides for small engines and routine maintenance. Also includes guides on extensive repairs such as engine and transmission disassembly.
Tutor.com
Receive one-on-one support in over 60 subjects covering homework help, job search assistance, test prep, and more. Live tutoring is available from 2 pm - 9 pm, 7 days a week.
Weiss Financial Ratings
powerful tools to protect your finances, invest wisely, grow your wealth, and learn more about your finances.
World Book Kids
Easy-to-read content for elementary school learners. Includes hundreds of activities, science projects, and experiments.
--------------------------------------------
The Michigan eLibrary provides access to additional databases. To access the other MeL databases click here:
Copyright 2014 DeWitt District Library 13101 Schavey Rd DeWitt, Michigan 48820 517-669-3156